USENIX Association

Proceedings of the 19th USENIX Conference on File and Storage Technologies (FAST '21)

© 2021 by The USENIX Association

All Rights Reserved

This volume is published as a collective work. Rights to individual papers remain with the author or the author's employer. Permission is granted for the noncommercial reproduction of the complete work for educational or research purposes. Permission is granted to print, primarily for one person's exclusive use, a single copy of these Proceedings. USENIX acknowledges all trademarks herein.

ISBN 978-1-939133-20-5

Conference Organizers

Program Co-Chairs

Marcos K. Aguilera, VMware Research

Gala Yadgar, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology

Program Committee

Nitin Agrawal, ThoughtSpot

Marcos K. Aguilera, VMware Research

Woongki Baek, UNIST (Ulsan National Institute of Science and

Technology)

Mahesh Balakrishnan, Facebook

Suparna Bhattacharya, $Hewlett\ Packard\ Enterprise$

Janki Bhimani, Florida International University

Angelos Bilas, University of Crete and FORTH

Randal Burns, Johns Hopkins University

Feng Chen, Louisiana State University

Vijay Chidambaram, The University of Texas at Austin and VMware Research

Natacha Crooks, University of California, Berkeley

Daniel Ellard, Raytheon BBN Technologies

Danny Harnik, IBM Research—Haifa

Dean Hildebrand, Google

Cheng Huang, Microsoft

William Jannen, Williams College

Song Jiang, The University of Texas at Arlington

Rob Johnson, VMware Research

Kimberly Keeton

Patrick P. C. Lee, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Xiaosong Ma, Qatar Computing Research Institute, HBKU

Peter Macko, NetApp

Ethan L. Miller, University of California, Santa Cruz, and

Pure Storage

Dalit Naor, The Academic College of Tel Aviv-Yaffo

Don Porter, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Rob Ross, Argonne National Laboratory

Ken Salem, University of Waterloo and Amazon

Jiri Schindler, Tranquil Data

Russell Sears, Apple

Mehul A. Shah, Amazon AWS

Keith A. Smith, MongoDB

Amy Tai, VMware Research

Vasily Tarasov, IBM Research

Carl Waldspurger, Carl Waldspurger Consulting

Youjip Won, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and

Technology (KAIST)

Gala Yadgar, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology

Test of Time Awards Committee

Jiri Schindler, Tranquil Data

Bianca Schroeder, University of Toronto

Work-in-Progress Reports (WiPs) Co-Chairs

Peter Macko, NetApp

Amy Tai, VMware Research

Tutorial Coordinators

Andy Klosterman, NetApp

John Strunk, Red Hat

Steering Committee

Nitin Agrawal, ThoughtSpot

Angela Demke Brown, University of Toronto

Casey Henderson, USENIX Association

Kimberly Keeton

Geoff Kuenning, Harvey Mudd College

Arif Merchant, Google

Sam H. Noh, UNIST (Ulsan National Institute of Science and

Technology)

Raju Rangaswami, Florida International University

Erik Riedel

Jiri Schindler, Tranquil Data

Bianca Schroeder, University of Toronto

Keith A. Smith, MongoDB

Eno Thereska, Amazon

Carl Waldspurger, Carl Waldspurger Consulting

Hakim Weatherspoon, Cornell University

Brent Welch, Google

Ric Wheeler, Facebook

Erez Zadok, Stony Brook University

External Reviewers

Amogh Akshintala Deniz Altinbüken Irina Calciu Yuval Cassuto Moshe Gabel Aishwarya Ganesan Myungsuk Kim Jean-Sebastien Legare Beomseok Nam Aalap Tripathy

Cong Xu Eitan Yaakobi Jun Yuan